Skip to main content

EL Ballantyne Cohort: Education Periodicals

Types of Periodicals

Journals, magazines, newspapers: what's the difference?

Check out this video on "Magazines and Scholarly Journals" from the University of Arkansas Libraries.

MAGAZINES: contain articles on topics of popular interest written in a non-scholarly style, while journals contain articles of original research and commentary including footnotes and works cited.

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS: are peer-reviewed or refereed journals. Prior to publication, articles undergo a critical review process by experts / referees on the subject who evaluate the quality of the research.

Make sure you are using the appropriate type of resource required by your professor. If in doubt, just ask a librarian - we'll be glad to help!

Bulldog Delivery Service and InterLibrary Loan

Need a book, article or ERIC document owned by the EKS Library but can't get to campus? Just request the item online via Bulldog Delivery and we will deliver it to your home campus. While there is no charge for books, articles and other printed information cost 7¢ per page.

If you need a book not owned by the EKS Library or an article not available in full text online, simply request them via InterLibrary Loan and we will have them delivered to your home campus. While there is no charge for books, articles and other printed information cost 7¢ per page.

Determining Scholarly Status/Access to Scholarly Articles

Education and Psychology Journals

Locating Publications

The Library's article discovery service Full Text Finder makes it easy to locate journals and full-text articles. Publications are often available in multiple databases. For a specific article within a journal, choose the database with the correct coverage period for the volume and issue needed.  Note: Journals listed with full text delay or an embargo date (i.e Full Text Delay: 1 year) means you can only access articles prior to 1 year from the date of your search. 

Google Scholar

Don't Google it...

Google Scholar it!

Suggested Periodicals

Search by title in the Library's Full Text Finder service to find access and coverage dates for these periodicals:

  • Brigham Young University Education and Law Journal

  • Education and the Law

  • Journal of Law & Education

  • School Law Bulletin

  • Special Education Law Monthly

  • The Yearbook of Education Law

  • Your School and the Law