Skip to main content

ER 7950: Doctoral Capstone Project - Compton - Fall 2017: ERIC

"Fetch!"

Articles, Books, & More...

Use your campus network login (Wingnet) credentials if prompted for access. Click here for password assistance.

Save

Quick Links

More Resources & Services

Using ERIC's Thesaurus - Alternate Term

One of the useful features in ERIC is the link to the Thesaurus in the upper left corner which provides access to ERIC's internal controlled vocabulary of subject tags applied to each article. Browsing the Thesaurus terms can help you pinpoint the correct keywords to use in your search.

For example:

  • Cick on the Thesaurus link
  • In the Browsing window, enter multiculturalism and click Browse
  • ERIC indicates that the correct term is Cultural Pluralism
  • Click on Cultural Pluralism to view additional related search terms

Now that you have the proper descriptor, click on the link for Advanced Search, enter Cultural Pluralism, select any necessary limiters, and click Search. You can always do your own keyword search for multiculturalism or any other term, but using the Thesaurus terms can yield more relevant search results.

Using ERIC's Thesaurus - Term Not Found

One of the useful features in ERIC is the link to the Thesaurus in the upper left corner which provides access to ERIC's internal controlled vocabulary of subject tags applied to each article. Browsing the Thesaurus terms can help you pinpoint the correct keywords to use in your search.

For example:

  • Cick on the Thesaurus link
  • In the Browsing window, enter tracking and click Browse
  • ERIC indicates that this is not a current term but that it was used from 1968-1980
  • Click on Tracking (1968-1980) and the Scope Note provides you with the more precise descriptor Track System

Now that you have the proper descriptor, click on the link for Advanced Search, enter Track System, select any necessary limiters, and click Search. You can always do your own keyword search for tracking or any other term, but using the Thesaurus terms can yield more relevant search results.

Database Demo: ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)

ERIC is the premier education research database. Try the sample search outlined below to learn about some of the features this database offers.

Sample search:

  • Enter leadership in the first search box
  • Enter education in the second search box
  • Select limiters for your search such as Peer Reviewed, Date Published, Educational Level, or Publication Type
  • Do not select the limiter for Full Text - the LinkSource icon on the results page will connect you with articles not full text in ERIC
  • Click the Search button

On the results page you can:

  • Refine your results in the left-hand sidebar using the same limiters as on the Advanced Search page
  • Narrow your results using the Subject terms in the left-hand sidebar
  • Use the magnifying glass abstract icon to get a quick overview of the article without having to open the file
  • Use the Add to Folder icon to gather multiple items for batch emailing
  • Check for the full text of the article by looking for HTML or PDF icons or the small blue Full Text from ERIC hyperlink underneath the article title (look closely - it's easy to miss!)
  • Click on the blue article title hyperlink to print or email the article - be sure to select the proper citation style and check it for accuracy when you email the article to yourself!
  • If there is no full text access to the article, use the LinkSource icon to check for alternate access in another database
  • If there is no online access, check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription or use InterLibrary Loan

ERIC

Database Access Tips

Library resources listed on our guides are available for faculty, staff, and students with Wingnet credentials. Users may be prompted to enter their username and password. TIP: A username is the first part of your Wingate email address, before the @ symbol. Password information is available from the IT Help Desk portal, or by calling 704.233.8333 or 704.233.8092.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save