Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL)
A digital library that provides free electronic copies of Christian scripture and literature texts.
Directory of Open Access Books: Religion
Website that lets you search across a wide range of scholarly open access journals.
Directory of Open Access Journals (Religion)
A directory of open access journals on topics of religion, and theology.
Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism
Online digital library of journals, books, and other materials relating to theology, interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Note: you must register for a free account
before gaining access to full-text articles and books.
You can search and preview millions of books in Google Books. To find free full-text Google books: Select "Search Tools." Under "Any books" choose, Free Google eBooks. NOTE: Free Google books will mostly include books published before 1923.
Google Theological Journals Search
Search for Theological journals by subject or title.
IntraText Digital Library
Full text library of religious texts from Christianity (including the categories of Bible, Catholicism, the Vatican, Orthodox Christianity, Patristics, Reformation, the consecrated life and Thomism), Buddhism, Hinduism, and Islam.
New Testament Reading Room
From Tyndale University College, a list of links to the full or partial full text of digitized books relevant to the study of the New Testament.
Contains records of digital resources from open-archive collections worldwide.
Old Testament Reading Room
From Tyndale University College, a list of links to the full or partial full text of digitized books relevant to the study of the Old Testament.
Online Books Page (via UPenn)
Listing of over 1 million free books on the Web. Browse books by subject heading to find religion and theology links.
Review of Biblical Literature
The Review of Biblical Literature (RBL), founded by the Society of Biblical Literature, presents reviews of books in biblical studies and related fields.
Theological Commons (Princeton University)
A digital library of 76,717 books and journals on theology and religion, including 26,783 volumes from the Princeton Theological Seminary Library.
Wabash Center Online Books
Close to 200 books organized in the Wabash Center's Internet Guide to Religion.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Contains nearly 1600 entries maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field and refereed by an editorial review board.
The Internet Archive is "a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form." Use this site to search for moving images, audio, texts, etc.